Skip to main content

Bliss Life

be bold. be brave. be remembered.

Maureen Gervais

Feb 06, 2014 05:47PM
Maureen Gervais Age: 41 Height:  5' 3 Weight: 128 Aphrodite Models – Q&A Q. So, tell me a little about yourself. I am a single mother of 5. My children are aged, 22, 21, 18, 6 and 18 months. I was married for 18 years. I had my first 3 children in that marriage. I later met a man, lived common law, and had 2 children with him. I began training for my first figure show 2 weeks after my 6 year old son was born. I placed first and overall in the Sabba Provincials when he was 8 months old. I was 35 at that time. I went on to compete in 3 more shows, placing first in all, except one.. I placed 2nd. I have instilled healthy eating and active lifestyle in my children, and trained with the eldest 3 in the gym many times. My oldest daughter, competed in her first bikini show this April, while I competed in physique earning a 1st place. It was a surreal experience, having my daughter on stage..as we were supportive and encouraging to one another. I just moved to Strathmore Alberta.. leaving my second relationship. I have had many hurdles in life, but I feel empowered and confident when I continue to live a healthy and active lifestyle. I want all the women out there to know, no matter what the circumstances,no matter your age, how many children you have.. if you have a goal, set your mind to it....be passionate about it.. Whether it's personal weight loss, living a healthy lifestyle, or competing.. its all very attainable! Q. What was the house you grew up in like?

A. I grew up in Vernon BC. I have 2 sisters, who r 8 and 9 years older than me, so I was like an only child. I loved being surrounded by nature.. the mountains, trees and water. I biked a lot as a child and teen, loving the fresh mountain air. My favorite memories were playing beach volleyball at the lake in the summers, swimming and taking sunset walks by the beach. Q. Explain your health and fitness regime?

A. I train 5-6 days a week at the gym. I train two body parts a session, along with abs or glute and calve to finish the work out. I do half hour cardio..off season, and an hr and half cardio every day, when I am preparing for an upcoming show. I eat 80% clean off season.. mostly chicken, white fish, eggs, plenty of veggies, yams, rice and potatoes. My meals r eaten every 3 hrs. I have a cheat day, eating what I want but I still am careful with heavy carbs and sauces. I found when I started getting serious about my diet, and way of life.. its very hard on digestion when you eat foods that are high in fats and calories.

Q. What's your advice for feeling confident? How do you stay optimistic and faithful when you don’t feel like working out?

A. Confidence comes from how you feel about yourself. I know that I always leave the gym feeling renewed and empowered. There are many days I don't feel like working out, I make myself go.. and almost every time.. those are the days I have my best work outs. I leave feeling confident, and proud. I stay optimistic by never forgetting the amazing feeling you have once your workout is over. I have overcome many negative thoughts and feelings, just by going to the gym.

Q. What's your favorite sport? A. I will play any sport, given the opportunity..as long as I'm having fun. I tend to b a little nervous of baseballs hitting me in the mouth, or basketball shots in the nose, so I would prefer hiking, swimming or an outdoor run.

253Q. Tell me about your greatest strength? A. My greatest strength most definitely is my dedication towards a healthy lifestyle, and working out. I love to share my knowledge with anyone who takes an interest, as it makes me happy to see people walking out of the gym with a smile on their face.

Q.Who have been your role models? What about them do you admire? A. My trainer Cea Anna Kerr, IFBB pro., has been my inspiration and motivation. I admire her strength, confidence and dedication to the sport and competitive aspect. I one day, want to earn my pro card, and display the confidence she does on stage. That's my goal. Q. If you were an animal, what would you be? A. If I was an animal, I would b a dolphin. I love the water, and admire how dolphins have a strong sense of compassion and love towards their mate. Q.What is your most favorite healthy dish? A. I like any kind of fish, grilled lightly, with a strawberry spinach salad.

Q. What is YOUR PASSION? A. My passion is my children. I hope to be a good role model, and teach them confidence, empathy, loyalty and love. I want them to see me happy and confident within myself, so that they will live what they see and learn. I love working out, eating healthy, and teaching my kids the importance of being all that u can be, but never forgetting to be humble, and to help others.